Episode 26: Decline of football?, diversity in NASCAR, and exclusion of trans athletes from sport

In Episode 26, Shireen Ahmed, Brenda Elsey, Lindsay Gibbs, and Jessica Luther welcome their new co-host, Amira Rose Davis, to the Burn It All Down family. The group then discusses whether this is the beginning of the end for football and efforts within NASCAR ranks to increase diversity. Then Shireen interviews Allison Gallagher about the exclusion of trans woman Hannah Mouncey from the Australian Football League’s draft.

As always, you’ll hear the Burn Pile, Bad Ass Woman of the Week, and What’s Good in our worlds.

For timestamps and links…


Timestamps:

Coming soon

Links:

“Professors Are Complicit in Football Players’ Brain Damage” http://www.chronicle.com/article/Professors-Are-Complicit-in/241521

“Why We Should Drop Football” https://www.insidehighered.com/views/2017/10/20/our-university-should-drop-football-protect-our-students-brain-injury-essay

“Is Nick Saban underpaid at more than $11 million this season?” https://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaaf/sec/2017/10/25/nick-saban-underpaid-more-than-11-million-season/794275001/ 

“Friday Night Lights Out: The Case for Abolishing High School Football” https://sports.vice.com/en_us/article/53xy8k/friday-night-lights-out-the-case-for-abolishing-high-school-football

“Richard Petty Hires Bubba Wallace to Drive the Famed No. 43 Car” https://www.nytimes.com/2017/10/25/sports/autoracing/bubba-wallace-richard-petty.html

“Why Bubba Wallace doesn’t want to stop talking about diversity in NASCAR” http://ftw.usatoday.com/2017/06/nascar-diversity-darrell-bubba-wallace-jr-african-american-driver-cup-series-richard-petty-motorsports-pocono-400

“By appearance alone, NASCAR is in bigger trouble than other sports” http://www.espn.com/racing/nascar/story/_/id/19301641/nascar-burning-questions-attendance-woes-worse-other-sports-dale-earnhardt-jr-make-playoffs-driver-best-chance-win-first-title

“NASCAR’s quest to separate the heritage from the hate” https://thinkprogress.org/nascars-quest-to-separate-the-heritage-from-the-hate-59c96fa0b266/

“NASCAR’s Long Drive for Diversity” https://sports.vice.com/en_us/article/9a4p55/nascars-long-drive-for-diversity

“What’s next for Danica Patrick?” https://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nascar/2017/09/12/danica-patrick-future-plans-retiring-staying-nascar/659904001/

“Take It From A Trans Person: It’s Bullshit That Hannah Mouncey Isn’t Eligible For The AFLW” http://junkee.com/hannah-mouncey-trans-aflw/131369

“Megan Rapinoe: ‘Fifa doesn’t care about women’s football'” http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/41718874

“Because of a rule, girl who won Massachusetts high school boys’ golf tournament denied trophy and trip to states” http://www.pga.com/news/golf-buzz/because-of-rule-girl-who-won-massachusetts-high-school-boys-golf-tournament-denied

“Festa da ‘nobreza’ da Fifa tenta provar que crise acabou” http://esportes.estadao.com.br/noticias/futebol,festa-da-nobreza-da-fifa-tenta-provar-que-crise-acabou,70002058334

“Christian college requires freshman to take ‘Patriotic Education and Fitness’ class to honor the flag” https://thinkprogress.org/christian-college-mandates-patriotism-77efbb083ff2/

“Dog Doping at the Iditarod: Dallas Seavey, a Legend in the Sport, Is Named” https://www.nytimes.com/2017/10/23/sports/iditarod-dog-doping-dallas-seavey.html

“Grange to break ground for Stafanie Taylor Oval” http://jamaica-star.com/article/sports/20171017/grange-break-ground-stafanie-taylor-oval

“Muslim athletes at Winnipeg’s Dakota Collegiate get new custom hijab” http://www.cbc.ca/beta/news/canada/manitoba/dakota-collegiate-sports-hijab-1.4359587

“Lieke Martens wins The Best FIFA Women’s Player Award” https://www.sbnation.com/soccer/2017/10/23/16525694/lieke-martens-wins-the-best-fifa-womens-player-award

“US women’s hockey team struck gold — for equality” https://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/hockey/2017/10/25/women-hockey-team-struck-gold-for-equality/SFGlMuCz4E0XuQzokdzigK/story.html

“Here’s A Superhuman Volleyball Play From Three Different Angles” https://deadspin.com/heres-an-impossible-volleyball-play-from-three-differen-1819751647

“World Rugby to add five inductees to Hall of Fame” https://www.worldrugby.org/news/290226

“Virginia’s Carla Williams embraces her place in history” http://theundefeated.com/features/virginia-athletic-director-carla-williams-embraces-her-place-in-history/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *